Fur and Feather Friday

There is a crisp nip in the air this morning.  Honestly, I’m not a fan of extreme heat and spend most of the summer moving from one air conditioner to another-a fact that has become more true since menopause became a fact of my life-so I am relieved.

As the summer heads to its end, I have been noticing that the Canadian geese have begun flight school for the young ones.  They fly in formation but not very high and not heading south so I assume it is just practice runs as they look for farmers fields with grain on the ground.  In a week or two, our man made lake will be loaded every evening with geese (and ducks) that are grouping up and getting ready to head south.  The geese head south.  I have no idea what the ducks do.  I guess they head south too because I sure don’t see them waddling around my yard in February.

This past spring, we had a momma duck and her babies in my flower bed.  She runs a tight ship!  Those babies stuck to her like glue!  So close that at first you can’t tell it is more than one bird.SAM_3662

But as she moves to get away from us, we got a glimpse of fluffy sweetness.

SAM_3663

There they go….a few more feet and they are in the lake!SAM_3666

2 thoughts on “Fur and Feather Friday

  1. severn14 says:

    Aw so adorable!

Leave a Reply

