Hat…Better and last version

The hat for my Spanish inspired dress is done-for real.  Background info: I had considered a shape like a Spanish Flamenco dancer might wear, but couldn’t find any evidence that this would have been done so I opted for the cute little number I have been showing you.  I wasn’t happy with my first version and came up with a few ideas that might fix it.  I decided most of the ideas were too labor intensive for very little return and just went with the one glaring problem…the lace.  IMG_20160828_194855354

I didn’t like the sharp angle of the bend and decided a curve would be more effort but definitely nicer.img_20160829_093845227.jpg

I didn’t swap the flowers out for smaller ones (because I didn’t have any) but I did take the ones off of the back and went for a bow instead.img_20160829_093740191.jpg

I’ve decided I’m not young or dainty enough to pull off “cute” hats-the Flamenco style would have suited my face so much better-to bad I could find no evidence of this style of hat for women in the 1860’s.  Note to self, steer clear of cute inspirations and move towards dignified or dramatic! Leave cute to the dog!img_20160827_120941879.jpg

*This poor dog is in dire need of a groomer but her groomer takes the weekends off in summer and I have no way to take her during the week.  She still is cute to me!

One thought on “Hat…Better and last version

  1. severn14 says:

    The new lace arrangement looks great! Good fix!

    Aww puppy! So cute!

Leave a Reply

