Rationalize the apron purchase.

Earlier this summer, I gave into my impulse to buy an apronIMG_20160807_115725766I wondered if it was a viable option for wearing with costumes.  My biggest concern was the neck band.  In my limited memory, I thought the common way to support the bib front was pins, not bands.  But a quick search on the Met’s site showed the bands would be fine.

1800-1890-apron-met

1800-1890

1820-29-apron-met

1820-29

The next apron shows that white with lace is also acceptable.

1840-60-apron-met

1840-60

My costuming pal, Lottie Lovette pointed out, however, that Battenburg lace was not really a thing until the late 1800s so I will have to confine the aprons use to my 1890s outfits.

at-home-wear

It would work with this outfit.

1895-2

Or with this skirt and the other shirtwaist.

The white apron on a white shirtwaist may be a bit much so perhaps I need to make another shirtwaist.  But what color…?  A pale yellow may work with both skirts.  Not a fan of yellow though.  Both skirts have stripes so I think I will avoid stripes in the new shirtwaist.

I’d also like to make an apron (or two) more suited to earlier times…. One should be practical, something a lady might actually do some work in and one should be more decorative.  The examples posted above are excellent inspirations.  So many project ideas…so little time!

Leave a Reply

