Outing to the St. Boniface Museum

Shirley and I went to the St. Boniface Museum this weekend.  2It was my chance to wear something new and Shirley’s chance to wear something she hasn’t had enough opportunities to wear.62

For the most part, I was pleased with how the dress looks on but there were some issues with the jacket not sitting right.  I think the problem was the corset is the wrong era (and not small enough) so the “girls” were not smooth enough.5c

See how it rides up.

Before leaving home, I got the hubby to take an “at home” photo.1a

Corset cover required!  As well as a more appropriate corset!  The hoops need work too but I will acknowledge that they didn’t fall off this time, and I finally have them short enough that I don’t step on them (unless the ground is really hilly).

The St. Boniface Museum was built in 1847 and served many purposes.

1847 – 1956 Under the auspices of the Grey Nuns, the convent served as Western Canada’s first hospital, orphanage and seniors’ home. It was also a school, initially for both girls and boys; Louis Riel was a student here. Eventually, the Sisters operated a boarding school for girls.

Louis Riel was a Metis person (Aboriginal and French parents). 72

He was not pleased with how his people were being treated by the Canadian Government and he led a rebellion that set up a provisional government which ultimately started what became the province of Manitoba.  He is now known and honored as the founder of my province but at the time, the ruling class were not pleased with his actions and he and his supporters were imprisoned and he was hung.  Canada is a great country but it has some ugly skeletons in its closet…the treatment of the aboriginal people is one.

Because of his connection to the convent, many artifacts of his life and death are preserved in the museum.  There is also many artifacts related to the Metis peoples…7a

…and, of course the Catholic Church in Manitoba.  13

The nuns who ran and used the building for a century are represented as well.

Different displays were set up to represent Victorian and Edwardian rooms.  (It really is a big place!)  33

I loved the dishes from the above table and the nut cracker on the near by side board.

They had several nice examples of spinning wheels that makes me think I need to get back on mine!11

Shirley and I had fun trying to photograph ourselves in the mirrors.

 

When I got home, I played with my phone app and made a few special pictures just for the heck of it.44a

3 thoughts on “Outing to the St. Boniface Museum

  1. severn14 says:

    You guys look great! I’m sad I couldn’t make it. Glad you had such a good time though. It really is an interesting site.

  2. nonnaree says:

    A hint about the fit of your jacket: it rides up cuz it isn’t big enough in the fronts. Even with a different corset, you have too much “family” for it 😉. But you can probably enlarge the fronts by adding below the current edge: a deep box or knife pleated inset, maybe stitched down on the lower edge and a further trim added? If you have leftover fabric of the body, use that for the pleats. Just to the front, unless the back is too short. And maybe repeat your current trim at the bottom of the pleats if you have enough of that? Hope the suggestion is useful and best wishes as you adjust the fit!

    • You have a good point but I do feel the corset is at least half of the problem. I could put tennis balls in with the “family”-that is how much extra room is in there. It is laced grommet to grommet and there is still a lot of room in there. I want to make a corset anyway and if that goes to plan, I will try the jacket on again and see if it is still a problem and then try re doing the darts and adding to the edge like you suggest.

Leave a Reply

