Turn the page: other side

The last entry I made about my cabinet card album was in the back pages, which is tin types and carte de visites.IMG_20160724_183532849

We looked at the left page. This time we will look at the right page.

The first photo is a tin type of a cute little gaffer with his gun.  Knowing Victorians, that thing probably does actually work!img_20160724_184846

The next is a tin type as well.  The subjects are two women (mother/daughter?) and my guess for date, based on clothes is the 1880’s.  Aren’t those hats wonderful!

img_20160724_184918

Next is a tin type of two gents.  Love the wall!  It looks like boxes that have been paper mached to look like stone.

img_20160724_185000

And finally, another tin type that I think comes from the 80’s.

img_20160724_183955430

The woman on the right is holding something in her hand but it is blurry.  I’m guessing she moved and I’m also guessing it is something like a folded fan.  Again, more cute hats and I’m loving that white dress!  A white dress is something I don’t have yet.  I might be a bit too old (and messy-the law of my life is I’m always wearing white when I eat spaghetti) to be wearing white. I associate white dresses with wealthy young single Victorian ladies.  Wealthy because white is a pain to keep clean…you need to not have to work, not have to worry about washing it yourself and not have to worry about replacing it if it gets ruined.  And I associate it with young single ladies because the debut dresses were all white.  Anyone know if 50+ women wore white? (The woman in the second photo above is older but my guess is she is closer to 30 than 50 and her dress is more tan than white.)

4 thoughts on “Turn the page: other side

  1. valarielynn says:

    I love the 1885-87 flower pot hats. Besides being my favorite time period to dress, I also particularly love those hats. I also collect old photos to see what types of accessories they wore to add to my costume too.
    Val

  2. severn14 says:

    In one of the later Anne of Green Gables books, when Anne is a grown woman and mother, a snooty character tells her that she’s smart to wear a biscuit-coloured voile because white is only for the young. That’d be 20th century though, so not sure for Victorian.

Leave a Reply

