Year in Review: costumes worn

I had big plans to wear all my dresses this year but that didn’t happen.  I blame my new job…not having vacation time, Shirley and I were not able to go to Saskatchewan for the Dickens Festival.  That trip alone would have had at least 4 dresses out and about.

But lets see how well I did.

1838-40 Queen V dress.  Check. That was worn at the Coco Gala.172

1845 Atessa dress was worn for Halloween.

img_20161031_205736490.jpg

The 1860’s  Silky Skies dress got put on for this photo but I can’t figure out where I wore it.  I wouldn’t have put all that on for a chance to try on the apron!IMG_20160807_121745

Oh, wait!  Good ol’ Facebook!  According to Facebook I wore Silky Skies to the 7 Oaks Museum.  For some reason, those photos didn’t get posted here!  I will remedy that next post!

1861 Senora dress was worn to the St Boniface Museum this year.

5c

1872 Basque in Blue was used during Coco’s Steam Punk Tea.  200

My 1872 Lilac dream was worn to a play (I had almost forgotten about this fun event!)SAM_3652

1873 Purple Polonaise went to Little Britain Church.53

1880’s Half Grand Surprise Dress was used during the Circus themed social at Coco.

129

My 1880’s travel outfit was chosen for our annual ride on the Prairie Dog Central Train.

21

The 1882 Tea Gown finally got a real wearing during the Sunday breakfast with the artists at Coco.  I still don’t love the gown but I no longer loath it.189

My 1890’s swim suit was worn by the pool Friday night at Coco.29

My 1895 Summer Ensemble made an appearance at the Steam Punk wedding.img_20161022_130710981_hdr.jpg

1900 Widows Weeds got worn twice.  Once by myself at a celebration and fashion show at work…img_20160930_153444423

…and once by another person at the Vaughn Street Jail event last spring. (Serious nip tucking needed on the dress for this event.)

13330877_1092582557469665_5472724140805134247_n

 

Four dresses didn’t make the cut this year: 1840’s Copper Penny, 1850’s Tea Dress, 1895 dinner gown, 1895 Walking outfit.  It is probably best that I have only one dress on the docket for 2017.  If I can’t get them all worn, then I have to slow down production.  Or I have to part with some of them (gasp!)  Trouble with that is, if I am disenchanted enough to be willing to part with one of my babies, I am disenchanted enough to feel that no one actually would want it!  Then factor in size…nah.  I’m just going to have to find more times to wear them or set my goal to “wear once every two years”.

 

3 thoughts on “Year in Review: costumes worn

  1. Leiflynn Jeffery, Melfort, Saskatchewan says:

    Wow you were busy. What is your favorite era? I really like the 1880’s and Edwardian. You have so many nice costumes. I wouldn’t sell them. When you do that is when you find out you need it. You mentioned a Dickens Fair in Sask. So where is that being held? I will have to check that out. Merry Christmas and I hope you find time in the new year to get more dresses done.

    • I would have to say my favorite eras are the 70’s and 80’s with there being more places I can wear 80’s here in Manitoba (very few people and buildings here in the 70’s…it was still pretty wild.) There were white women here in the 70’s but very few that were upper class, which is what I like best.

      The Dickens Fair is in Carlyle Sask. and it is usually held the first weekend in December so you are out of luck for this year. Perhaps, when next we go, you can meet us there!

      Merry Christmas to you as well!

      • Leiflynn Jeffery, Melfort, Saskatchewan says:

        It was pretty wild here as well. I will research the Carlyle Dickens Festival and that would be great to meet up there. Thanks for the info on that.

Leave a Reply

