Crochet hook holder

A few posts back, I was whining about no one wanting my knitted or crochet projects. One of my solutions was to simply make stuff for myself.  And the things I can use a lot of is bags/containers/holders to keep my crap organized.

Up until now, I have been using a plastic case to hold my crochet hooks.  img_20170121_185119092.jpg

But it was originally a kit and I have more hooks than were originally intended for the case.  This means the case wont stay closed and then the hooks fall out.img_20170121_185109251.jpg

A real pain in the rump roast.

I had seen “housewives” that were popular in the Victorian era (and I believe earlier).  They were cases, usually made from scrap bits of fabric, that were designed to hold random tools and items needed for sewing.  So I thought,  “they used left over fabric for a house wife for sewing- I will use left over wool to crochet a housewife for crochet hooks.” Ta da!img_20170121_185138874.jpg

As you can see…nice and tidy!  They are spaced quite far apart but in reality, I can get quite a few more in there…once I find them in all their hiding places.  It rolls up nicely and all the hooks stay put. img_20170121_185229072.jpg

I did two rows black, one row grey (left overs from my sons neck warmers).  I used double crochet for every row but I altered every second row of grey.  In the altered row, I crocheted into the row below the normal spot every second stitch.  This created the little points on the out side.img_20170121_185241160.jpg

On the inside, it created larger loops that I can slide the hooks into.

The plan is to use knitting needles and a knit stitch to make a new knitting needle case and I will use circular needles to make a case for my circular needles.  AND THEN I will sew a housewife for my sewing things.  I am inordinately pleased with myself!

 

5 thoughts on “Crochet hook holder

  1. flaregirl55 says:

    I think that is wonderful, good JOB missy!

  2. flaregirl55 says:

    I really enjoy all your posts we met at Captain Kennedy’s home years ago. I was with my sister Gerri. I think you ladies are amazing and I would love to see you again. Be well say hi to Shirley and the other gal. Sandy A.

  3. severn14 says:

    Oooh so clever! What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

