My new heaven

Some time ago I talked about this little chunk of heaven in Minneapolis…basically a fabric store the size of a football field.

Little did I know, I have a slightly smaller version of it here at home (and only a 10 minute detour from my route to work).  The prices are not quite as good but I’m not paying for gas, a hotel stay or meals and I’m not getting murdered by a bad currency exchange.  It is called Marshall Fabrics.

My niece and I went on a little excursion there today.  I vowed to treat myself but not buy costume fabric. At this point I have enough project material for this year. I can’t afford to get drastically side tracked by a new idea or to amass more crap for the stash.  Yay me, I stuck to the plan!

I surveyed the lay out and made mental plans to come back and buy this plaid and that velvet…but mostly did my real shopping in the notions.  I bought a few things to fix some modern clothing items (a zipper and some ribbon)-boring. But while looking in that section, I saw some very pretty trim that I HAD TO HAVE!  But what was I going to sew it on to?

I decided I could use some more tops for work and I have frequently thought that I have a few shirts that fit very well and it would be smart to use them as patterns for others.  When buying shirts, it is hit and miss.  Most of my shirts fit one part well but miss the mark in other areas (too baggy, too shear, too short, too clingy, too low cut, too high cut, empire waist line to high….).  But some do fit well and would make good patterns.  If I could find the perfect material for that trim, I would buy it and that would be my treat.  And I did!img_20170211_173927678.jpg

When I get caught up on the HSF challenges for this year, I will make time to sew this up into a t-shirt.  There might even be enough left over for a camisole as well.

2 thoughts on “My new heaven

  1. totchipanda says:

    Ohh the joy of Marshall’s! It’s the only other fabric store besides quilting and Fabricland in Edmonton, and it’s fab! I’m going next week, actually… That is a really lovely trim!

Leave a Reply

