CDV: Granny with glasses

For your viewing pleasure, I give you a CDV of an older woman from New Hampshire.  img_20161211_182417741

Her hairstyle is 1850’s but I suspect that this is a style she wore in her younger years and not a reflection of the date of the carte.

The skirt on her dress seems wide not slim.  I suspect hoops not a bustle but she is sitting so it is hard to be sure.  The sleeves are quite roomy and she has a false yoke on her bodice.  If I were to date the photo based on the dress I would go with late 1860’s.

Based on the card itself I’d say it is late 1860’s.  Baring natural wear and tear, the corners are still quite square, which was the fashion until the 70’s.

Leave a Reply

