More modern sewing: repairs addition

This past long weekend has been a productive one.  I did quite a bit of crocheting (nothing finished yet) and sewing. I completed (finally) HSF’s January challenge and some modern sewing/repairs.

I have a shirt I really like except that it is too low cut and my bra is fully visible to the world.  This means I’ve had to wear a camisole under it.  This is fine except I work in a nursing home where the heat is set a tad high for the comfort of the seniors and I have my own personal midlife internal tropical heat waves happening.  An extra layer of clothing is not desirable!  (I stopped wearing my corset daily because of the combined reasons of the start of hot flashes and the cessation of chronic back pain.)  This weekend, I fixed the problem by sewing in a chunk of lace into the neckline of the shirt.  Easy fix.

I also have a pair of pants that I LOVE except the zipper wouldn’t stay up.  I tried to fix it by using pliers to squeeze the slide tighter but ended up breaking it right off.  This meant I had to either pitch the pants or fix the zipper.  Zippers are the devil but I am pleased to say I successfully replaced it!

Finally, I have three sarongs that I wear on the beach.  I can wrap them around my chest or waist and tie them off like a bath towel but I’d like to do the style where you wrap it around yourself and tie it behind your neck.  But my sarongs don’t have enough material.img_20170220_113324807_hdr.jpg

I’m short by at least half a meter.img_20170220_113330863.jpg

When I last went fabric shopping, I was hoping to find a fabric that would suit for a sarong.  No luck.  So how to make the ones I have work?  Add ribbon along one edge.img_20170220_132104805.jpg

With this added ribbon, I can still wear the sarong in the styles I was able to before, just with an added bow decoration.img_20170220_120357463.jpg

And I discovered another way I could wear it with the added ribbon.img_20170220_130446505.jpg

All in all, a productive weekend.  I wish I had 3 day weekends every week!

Next post will be about my completed HSF January project.

One thought on “More modern sewing: repairs addition

  1. I am continually browsing online for ideas that can aid me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

