Oh gosh, I don’t think I can do it

I went to the flea market on Saturday.  At first nothing called to me.  Then things called to me that were to big and expensive. (I can’t slip a $200 side board into the car and not have the hubby notice…).  Then I found a table cloth loaded with embroidery and Battenburg lace.  And the price was better than I expected! Yeah!

img_20170225_201856857.jpg

I snagged it knowing that it was too small for my table. I snagged it because I had evil plans for it…cut it up and make an Edwardian shirtwaist.  If I avoided the big patches of Battenburg lace, there would be enough to make a shirtwaist and there would be enough actual fabric that it wouldn’t be slutty.

Trouble is, it isn’t as small as I thought.  If I take the expansion leaf out of my table, the cloth would fit.  And with some ironing, it would look so lovely next to the buffet I have next to the table.

img_20170225_201825369.jpg

It really might be too lovely to desecrate with scissors.  But then again, the table wont be shrunk down until the kids move out and a white table cloth and food… It might get more use as a shirtwaist.

I think I will have to iron it and shrink the table just to see what it will look like.  I could use it for tea parties with dainty ladies rather than for my ravenous family in the middle of a dine and dash…okay, I don’t think I can do it.

 

3 thoughts on “Oh gosh, I don’t think I can do it

  1. Leiflynn Jeffery, Melfort, Saskatchewan says:

    What a score! I would keep looking for another one in not as good a condition to use for your shirtwaist. This is too gorgeous to go under the scissors. How beautiful. You could use it to decorate your Victorian/Edwardian tea table.

  2. […] here to read the article.  And know why I am now giving my poor old table cloth an evil look […]

Leave a Reply

