The reason the UFO pile gets so big

NOTE: DO NOT FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS! I LATER FOUND OUT I WAS WRONG.  LATER POST WILL HAVE CORRECTED VERSION.

It is plain and simple.  It is because I have to work.  No other reason.  If someone would pay me to stay home and make things for myself, there would be a much smaller UFO pile.

So with millions  of projects that have been sitting on the back burner for YEARS and dozens that have been sitting for months and a couple of handfuls that have been sitting for weeks, I have started a new project.5b60a444dd9211ac82061bdc1ae5ec2d

Here is how I’m doing them.  I have a set of circular needles and I am working both arm warmers at the same time.  I am using real wool, worsted weight, and a needle size recommended for the wool (4.5 mm 7 US).  I cast on 36 stitches with one ball of wool and then cast on another set of 36 with another ball.  I knit one row for one warmer and then one row for the second one.  I have done this with mitts and it is very satisfying to finish both at the same time!

I have been knitting loosely to keep it stretchy. But, if a person tends to knit tightly, they can get the same effect by using larger needles.  The pattern calls for a color change but I don’t have another color so mine will be monochromatic (white).  I am not adding to the stash by running out and buying more wool. The pattern is fairly easy to follow so far.  The Victorian patterns can be a bit vague.  To create the puff I had to read it a few times to get it but I think what happens is you knit 12 rows.  Then you change colors if you want and knit 24 more rows to create the length for the first puff.  This is where I had to use my imagination.

To create the puff I think you have to slip one stitch on the next needle then pick up the first of the cast on stitches (hence the word “commencement” in the original instructions.) Then slip the next stitch and pick up the next cast on.  Repeat until all the stitches and all the cast on stitches are on one needle.  The work thus far should be rolled up like a hem.  The wool will be on the wrong side of your needle if you are using straight needles so you will have to pass them back to the other needle.  If my mind is serving me well, I shouldn’t have this problem with circular needles. By repeating “knit 2 together” across the row you seal up the seam and get back down to the original number of stitches (36).

My mind is not grasping what the color change would look like with 12 rows in white and 24 in color.  Once created, one side of the puff would be color and the other side would be striped.  It seems to me, you wouldn’t bother having a stripe if that was the side worn next to the skin.  Damn it.  Now I want to see it with the color change (plots second pair with color change…plans shopping trip…UFO pile grows….)

 

One thought on “The reason the UFO pile gets so big

  1. […] posted here about the first phase of […]

Leave a Reply

