I finished the impulse buy

I saw some wool about a month ago that called to me.  It was variegated in colors I associate with old Hudson’s Bay blankets.  It kept calling to me but I steadfastly ignored it and followed my “no new wool till I finish what is in my stash” rule. (Following this rule got easier after going through a funk because no one wanted what I was making.)

But the wool called to me for a few weeks and I decided I could make something that I want with it.  I decided to make a throw for my living room.  The dog uses the one currently there as an extra bed on the couch.  Talk about Princess.  Needless to say, I’m not inclined to offer it to guests who may wish a cozy cover while watching TV.

For the most part I am pleased with it.  The wool is chunky so it made up fast and I used a single crochet stitch for the whole thing so it was a no brain power require project.  It needs to be blocked and it probably could have used a chain stitch or two in the corners to make it lay flatter but I didn’t want holes.

img_20170312_223344206.jpg

My Princess on her bed.

The colors and boxes match my carpet perfectly.

img_20170312_223234735.jpg

You can really see the need for blocking in this photo!  It is just so big and heavy as it is that I’m not excited about trying to deal with blocking…

These are the colors that drew me to it.

img_20170312_223637312.jpg

Now I should get to work on historical projects…which is what this blog is supposed to be about!

Leave a Reply

