The project Cha Cha

You know how projects can be: two steps forward, two steps back and a little side step or two.

The steps foreword happened with my Edwardian blousewaist.  I have sewn the main seams on the body.  img_20170319_202657443.jpgI like the way the embroidery and lace look but I’m definitely going to have to get a corset cover organized with this thing (and a proper Edwardian corset)!

My idea for dealing with the lace at the seams (bias tape) seems to be working.img_20170319_202636265.jpg

That lace isn’t going anywhere!

Two steps back: that happened with my knitted undersleeves.  I’m going to have to take them apart.  They are just going to be too tight.  I don’t know how tight they are supposed to be but I’m pretty sure they weren’t going for compression garments or arm corsets.  I had hoped that I could just follow the instructions and count on heavier wool and bigger needles to make up the difference but it wont.  Drat that means I will have to do some math to figure out how many rows and stitches I need.  Since I was starting from scratch, I thought I may as well buy a second color and see how it is supposed to look with the stripes.

And the side steps: I made an impulse stop at a thrift store and picked up some wooden knitting needles (like I need more) and this fabulous strip of sari fabric.  img_20170319_202724856.jpg

Oooh.  Shiney!

Obviously I can’t use this for Victorian wear.  And it is a bit much for modern work wear.  I’m thinking an over the top beach wrap.img_20170319_202948509.jpg

Well, have a good week folks.  Hopefully, I will be disciplined and be back in a couple of days with some progress to share.

2 thoughts on “The project Cha Cha

  1. severn14 says:

    The new blouse is looking great! It’s almost too bad that you had to cut up the tablecloth to make it, but if anything is worth cutting up an old table cloth for it’s gorgeous costumes!

    • Yeah it was a tough decision but it really will get more use as a costume. If I was convinced that it truly was older than vintage or that there wasn’t that many of them out there, I couldn’t have done it. But if it were a rare antique, it never would have ended up in my hands- I wouldn’t have been able to afford it! Hopefully, it works out and there will be no moment where I look at it and think “Oh no, the table cloth died for this hot mess!”

Leave a Reply

