Lacy jabot

I’m down to my last carte de visite in my collection so looks like I will have to buy more.  I sacrifice greatly for my 10 readers.  (Tongue in cheek-you know the hoarder in me just wants more-more! I tell you-more!)

The last one is of a couple.  Perhaps a wedding photograph?  That jabot is a beauty isn’t it!IMG_20161211_182655275

To get a date for this carte, I will say the hair style is earlier than 1880’s.  The dress looks to be Natural Form, which is 1877-82.  The very thick boarder on the card stock itself was a common feature of cartes between 1877-80.  So best guess is it is a late 1870’s carte.

IMG_20161211_182703623

A quick Google search revealed that the photographers business was taken over by a nephew in 1890 but I wasn’t able to get any firm dates about when he was in business in Bucyrus Ohio.

Hope you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

