A night on the town

Shirley and I launched our costuming season last night by attending a musical evening at our/my favorite house museum, Dalnavert House.

The featured band was Simpson’s Folly.

IMG_20170408_215817

Shirley and I dressed up in some 1890’s ensembles in honor of the house’s age.IMG_20170408_200811727

I don’t know why my hair looks so “slept in” in that photo!  Isn’t the cane Shirley is carrying fabulous!  She says the vendor she bought hers from has an elephant one!  I think I need that!

Simpson’s folly had a quiz question about a young private that came to Manitoba in the 1870’s to deal with the upstart Riel.  He later became a premier in Manitoba…who was it? Shirley thought it was the builder of Dalnavert House, Hugh John McDonald.  She was too shy to answer the quiz in case she was wrong.

IMG_20170408_200648023

I was fairly sure she wasn’t.  I remembered hearing that he had been involved with the fight against Riel but couldn’t remember much about his political past.  I took a chance that Shirley had remembered that part correctly and answered for her.  (When it comes to talking I don’t have much fear of looking the fool.  I think I actually need a bit more fear.)

IMG_20170408_200730057

We won a CD from the band!  Nice launch to our costuming season!

 

2 thoughts on “A night on the town

  1. Leiflynn Jeffery, Melfort, Saskatchewan says:

    Oh you two look so elegant! Nice job ladies. Love the reticule’s. Sure wish there was some place in Sask that had items like what you find. Pout. You haven’t blogged about your dress have you? I love the color and the sleeves are very nice. Good job.

Leave a Reply

