HSF 2017 Challenge 2 Remake Reuse Refashion

February’s challenge is done.  It is two months late but worth it!

The Challenge: 2 Remake Reuse Refashion

Material: Battenberg lace table cloth

img_20170225_201825369.jpg

Pattern: TVE41  Plain Blousewaist

IMG_20170423_204840875

Year: 1903

Notions: Bias tape, buttons, hooks and eyes

IMG_20170423_204808045

How historically accurate is it? The pattern is good (thank you Truly Victorian for your dedicated work).  Linen was used as was Battenberg lace (though the lace was added after the shirt was assembled).  It is a vintage or older table cloth so the weave might be more accurate than a modern linen, but I am only guessing.  The color is good.  My buttons are plastic which is not ideal-possible but not common.  It is intended for day wear for my persona (upper middle class middle aged woman).  I think the silhouette is good.  Biggest problem is the corset-not the shirt itself. I give it about 85%.

IMG_20170423_204759866

Hours to complete:  Not bad, once I got going.  I’d say about 30.

First worn: Not yet

Total cost: $15 for the table cloth, $5 for the buttons.

I’ve juggled around my projects and gave myself an easy one to work on next weekend.  That should get April’s challenge off my dance card.  Stay tuned.

 

One thought on “HSF 2017 Challenge 2 Remake Reuse Refashion

  1. Leiflynn Jeffery, Melfort, Saskatchewan says:

    This turned out so nice. Good job. Can’t wait for the next project!

Leave a Reply

