We have plans…so does life

At the beginning of the year I took the time to sketch out some projects that would go with the Historical Sew Fortnightly themes.  As the year has progressed, I hit some road blocks. (Projects that took longer than expected.  Supplies for projects getting ordered but not showing up.)  And then there was the drop in my own enthusiasm.

I had started to feel more intensely that I was making items I didn’t really want at this time or making items in strange orders (accessories before outfits, for example) so that I could match a challenge or really stretching the parameters of the challenge to make something I wanted to only to rush through it to meet the deadline as reasonably as possible.

Don’t get me wrong!  I loved doing HSF!  It did exactly what I wanted it to, which was motivate me to get started on projects AND actually finish them so that I could build a wardrobe for costume events.  Now I have a huge wardrobe. I have actually reached the point that it is to big! I have more outfits than I can wear in a year.  Several of which, I am no longer satisfied with.

With those thoughts and feelings in mind I decided a few months back that I would finish the HSF year out and next year I would change my way of doing things.   First I’d pack up the outfits I no longer love.  They’d go into storage until I reached the point that I could part with them.  Then I’d limit my creativity for the year to finishing UFO projects (the vast majority being modern knitting) and limiting myself to one costume, which I would take great pains to choose, to shop for and to sew slowly and carefully.

And then life stepped in.  There is actually a lot going on but the primary stepping has been done by my doggy.  This is her last Christmas.  Lookin’ fine!

IMG_20161225_121236393

She has been slowing down lately and I thought “hmmm, old age is kicking in”.  But within a few weeks, old age seemed to be running her over with a truck.  Here she is lookin’ not so fine.  And starting to have accidents in the house, which she has never done!

IMG_20170705_205553028

I took her to the vets a couple of weeks ago and the old age turned out to be diabetes.  We are early into the treatments (strict diet, twice daily insulin shots) but already we are seeing a vast improvement!  It is like having a young dog again!

IMG_20170719_212123021

Mom!  Stop takin’ pictures!  We are playin’ here!

 

But, keeping her this way means I have to do some changing.  I have fast forwarded my plan to back off of the HSF challenges (though I intend to watch and be amazed by the work of others!)  Not having the deadlines takes some un-needed stress off of me.   And I am vowing that any future projects be either UFO or at least 80% stash busting thus freeing up some cash to support my insulin junkie’s new habit.

Who knows, I may have to start a blog about my life with a diabetic dog!

7 thoughts on “We have plans…so does life

  1. severn14 says:

    So glad that the vet figured out what is wrong and that she is responding to treatment so well and quickly! 😀

  2. totchipanda says:

    Oh hello sweet pupper! My life got thrown into the wringer last year when my cat became diabetic, so I definitely know what you are going through! (I am not a morning person… but I got up at 6:30 every morning to give him breakfast and insulin to keep him on a schedule that also worked with the rest of my life, but I did have to give some things up because of him) I’m so glad you were able to find the reason and that it’s so easily treatable.

    • I can’t say it has been easy to treat. It seems cats adjust to this easier than dogs (from what I hear) as there seems to be fewer complications and cats can sometimes recover (it’s the nine lives I’m sure!) I hope that as we get to the point that her sugars are stable and we all get used to the process (needles included) it will feel easy. I hope your cat stays happy and strong for her full cat life!

  3. Dorothy Simon-Noyes says:

    Poor dear doggy! I am so glad to hear the treatment worked. What a sweetheart.

Leave a Reply

