New idea found on another blog

For you bloggers out there who may be checking me out, I want you to know that I check you out too and I even read your old stuff.  I was reading World Turn’d Upside Down and found a crochet pattern that I’d like to try.  I don’t have any silk right now, nor do I have much expendable cash.  A certain insulin junkie is using that all up.

IMG_20170719_212123021

Update: she is feeling like a puppy again but is going blind I think.  I hope that if she does, it continues to be somewhat gradual.

But I like the pattern and may try it as a modern hat at first.  I’m sure I have stuff in my stash I could use up so I wont need to cough up any cash for it.

Godey's Lady's Book 1861 Crochet Glengarry CapI think what is happening is the lighter part of the pattern is close together crochet stitches and the  darker part is the lining peaking through the spaces.  Basically the hat has four layers.  The outer layer is the crochet part.  Then there is a layer that is a darker shade of the color used for the crochet. That creates the dark part of the pattern in the hat.  Then there is some sort of stuffing, like a flannel, and then next to the head is a black lining.  There is a reinforcing band of leather around the brim but I think gros grain ribbon could work too.

Leave a Reply

