Red and black stockings

I finally finished the second stocking this past weekend.  (The pattern was from 1886 and I followed it exactly for stitch and row count but not color). It was a struggle to get them done because I came to the conclusion after I finished the first one, that my wool was thicker than intended and therefore messed up the dimensions of the finished project.  They fit but they are not a real reflection on how they were actually worn.  The fatter wool was helpful in making the stockings wide enough for me and my stout figure.  This meant I did not need to add stitches.  But the thicker wool also made them way too long!  I believe they were intended to be above the knee but up to the crotch is perhaps TO far above the knee!

IMG_20170904_125418781

Will I still use them?  Yes, they’d make great socks for a witches costume.  I will use them with my historical costumes on cold days because no one will be looking that far up my skirts (I hope).  I will have to find a way to keep them up.  The stocking garters I knit just wont do the trick.  I may have to add some elastic to the tops.  They are long enough that I could just sew them to undies and make leggings out of them.

I will call these mock ups and start a new pair.  I will simply reduce the number of times I repeat the pattern to get the right length.  I am going to make the next pair more colorful.  I’m debating on weather reducing the number of stitches will make them stay up.

6 thoughts on “Red and black stockings

  1. Leiflynn Jeffery, Melfort, Saskatchewan says:

    Wow. I think they turned out pretty nice. According to the American Duchess colourful stockings were in back then. You will be warm in the winter and styling.

  2. flaregirl55 says:

    Hello,
    I am selling a whole box of stay ups at my garage sale. The tops are just what you need to add to your stockings. Email me if you are intrested they would work just fine.
    Sandy
    I also have a couple of mink fur wraps that you would be able to use with your outfits. Let me know if you have any interest I am willing to let these items go for a steal of a deal.

    Hugs Sandy

Leave a Reply

