HSF ’14: Challenge 17-yellow

I’ve been thinking that if Historical Sew Fortnightly should happen again next year, I will have to rethink my efforts.  I have a closet full of gowns now.  I’m going to be hard pressed to jam any more in there.

I think next year, my focus should change. I think I should focus on projects like the one I am posting about today.  I will make trims and laces and then I will add them to existing dresses. Much of the Victorian era was about detail and my dresses are pretty sedate compared to some.

This plan could also be stash busting (and money saving).  I have a lot of left over material from previous projects.  They could be made into ruffles, bows, piping…excetra that could be added to the dresses and hats I already have.

This isn’t to say I WONT make new dresses (I can’t walk away from pretty fabric that is on sale…no, no, no, I can’t).  I just want to limit it to one or two.  Really, I’m reaching the point that I have more dresses than events to wear them to in a year.  I may have to start hocking some of them.

Anyway, on to the current challenge….

photoThe Challenge: 17 Yellow

What it is: 2 meters of needle tatted trim

Fabric: none

Pattern: found on line

Year: early 1900’s

Notions: cotton crochet thread with metallic strands mixed in

How historically accurate is it? I don’t know if the metallic part of the thread is correct but the cotton is plausible and the technique is correct. So I will guess 90%. I’ll probably reduce accuracy of one of my dresses by adding this to it. (1870’s dress with 1900’s style trim LOL)

Hours to complete: @15

First worn: not yet

Total cost: $6 for the thread

Leave a comment