Tie cases are done wedding quilt progressing

I finished the neck tie cases with oodles of time to spare. I really like the race car one! I know just who will get that one!

They ain’t pretty-especially side by side-but individually they look and feel OK.

Speaking of ties. Remember the tie skirt?

It is cute on the floor and on a hanger but it looks terrible on me. If I carried my weight on my hips it would work but I carry it on my gut so a short skirt (especially with stripes) makes me look like a beach ball. So this one is destined to be deconstructed and the silk used in some sort of quilting project. I’m half playing with the idea of trying a MUCH LONGER ONE to see if that improves the look of it. That would mean buying more ties. I’d also consider taking the points off and making a straight hem and I’d line it. That silk was a bit too sheer. You didn’t need much of a light to see the shadow puppet show my thighs were putting on….

I’m making some good progress on the quilt I want to make for my son’s wedding. Pictures to follow.

4 thoughts on “Tie cases are done wedding quilt progressing

  1. Shirley A Victorian says:

    They look great. My favorite is the tartan one.
    I made a tie skirt in the 70’s when the ties were much wider. I mixed my Dad’s very thin “old” ones with the wider ones. Gave it an interesting look. I made a balaro? Jack to go with it 💜

  2. MapleJade says:

    The cases are really cool!

Leave a comment